Director and Founding Member: Mr Kerry Carmichael

Australian Aviation Hall of Fame
PO Box 2247
Bomaderry 2541, NSW 
0411 222 205

Vice Chairman, Founding Member: Mr Paul Tyrrell

Australian Aviation Hall of Fame

0438 114 372


The Australian Aviation Hall of Fame Limited is a company limited by guarantee and as such is open to persons, associations and other corporate entities to become members on an annual basis.

Membership gives you rights similar to a shareholder, to attend Annual General Meetings, Special General Meetings, to stand for and vote for directors. It gives you the ability to seek information and influence the strategic direction of the Company through the directors. Your liability is limited to the amount of your annual membership fee.

Members receive personal invitations to all AAHOF events including the Annual Gala Induction Dinner and other special functions.

Perhaps the greatest benefit of membership is knowing that you are supporting a great initiative for Australia’s rich aviation heritage.

How to Join

Simply complete the details on the online form accessible from the link above or PDF form and remit the applicable annual membership fee:

  • $50 for individuals
  • $75 for Associations affiliated with aviation or aerospace
  • $250 for corporate entities

You will receive confirmation of membership and a reference number.


AAHOF is a not for profit organisation and welcomes donations to allow us to achieve our goals. Our ultimate aim is a national physical display honouring all Inductees in a special facility. AAHOF is a Registered Charity under NSW Fair Trading (CFN/24465) with Deductible Gift Recipient Status for tax deductibility. Donations may be made by cheque or direct deposit to our bank account. Click here to make your donation.

Donate Here

Meet The Board Members

The Australian Aviation Hall of Fame Limited is operated and managed by a Board of Directors drawn / elected from its membership. The Wagga Wagga City Council has automatic representation on the Committee.

Steve Padgett


Steve Padgett is a life member and of the Regional Aviation Association of Australia (RAAA) and Chairman of the RAAA Convention. He has previously held a commercial pilot’s licence and instructor rating and owned and operated Aeromil Aviation.

Steve is Chairman of Alliance Airlines, Deputy Chairman of Hawker Pacific and has recently been appointed to the Air Force Cadets National Council, is Managing Director of Flight Options (Australia) Pty Ltd and Universal Training Systems.

Paul Tyrrell

Vice Chairman, Founding Member

Paul Tyrrell is a former CEO of the Regional Aviation Association of Australia.
He has held senior positions in the federal government and in the non-government sector. He owned and operated a charter company for six years.

He has been a pilot for over 35 years and holds soaring and instructor ratings.

Chris Manning

Vice Chairman, Founding Member

Chris started his career in aviation as a Qantas Pilot in the 1970’s. He was
President of the Australian and International Pilots' Association and Chief Pilot for Qantas.

More recently he has been a Director of Aerospace Australia Limited, Chairman of the Airport Coordination Australia and Commissioner for the Australian Transport Safety Bureau.

Kerry Carmichael

Director, Founding Member

Kerry has spent a life long career featuring many aspects of aviation including Commercial Manager of Talair in Papua New Guinea, Company Secretary of Kendell Airlines, AvSuper in Canberra and geophysical surveys with Thomson Aviation.

He is now retired and is a Founding Member of the Australian Aviation Hall of Fame.

Cr Rod Kendall

Councillor of Wagga Wagga

Rod was born in Holbrook and moved to Wagga at age seven.

Cr Kendall has been an active member of the Wagga Wagga community for many years first elected to Council in 2004 and has served continually since that date. Further Cr Kendall was elected Mayor in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. He has a keen interest in the Australian Aviation Hall of Fame and has positively contributed to its development.

Terry Hetherington

Terry Hetherington commenced a 20-year aviation engineering career with the RAN in 1966. He then moved to training and management roles in the airline and civil aviation industry, firstly with Qantas Airways Ltd and then British Aerospace Australia Ltd. He joined Aerospace Training Services in 2002 to provide engineering training for Jetstar at the introduction of the Airbus A320 into Australian airline service.

Terry was appointed to the Australian Public Service in 2006 to become Manager and Senior Curator of the Royal Australian Navy’s Fleet Air Arm Museum at Nowra, NSW. A board member of The Australian Naval Aviation Museum Foundation between 2001 to 2006, Terry directed the museum's reconfiguration and modernisation program until his retirement in 2019.

Terry was awarded a Diploma of Engineering in Aerospace Systems while serving in the RAN, and he is an Aircraft Engineer Licence holder. He is a Life Member of the Fleet Air Arm Association of Australia and Secretary of the New South Wales Division.

Linda Spurr

Linda Spurr is an independent non-executive director and an accomplished senior executive with many years’ experience in the aviation industry. In her former role as General Manager of Airservices’ Learning Academy she was responsible for operational training in Air Traffic Control, Aviation Rescue and Fire Fighting, and Technical and Engineering support services.

Linda is a Fellow CPA and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors She is a Director on several boards including the Safeskies and Deputy Chair of Aviation Aerospace Australia.

Ben Martin

Ben Martin is a partner of Norton White, the specialist transport law firm in Sydney, Australia. Ben advises a number of organisations in the aviation industry throughout Australia and the South West Pacific. He has been ranked by Legal Media Group’s “Best of the Best” guide to legal practitioners as one of the top 30 aviation lawyers in the world.

He has degrees in Law and Science from the University of New South Wales (1987). He is a member of the Flight Safety Foundation International Legal Advisory Council, is a past director of the Regional Aviation Association of Australia and a past President of the Aviation Law Association of Australia and New Zealand.